YouTube Channel Updated, Atomix Series Growing

Almost half of 2016 has passed us, so let’s take a quick look at what’s new and on the horizon:

  • We have uploaded our entire back catalogue of official releases onto our YouTube channel. You can now listen to all the tunes we’ve released since 2009 for free on YouTube, as well as a few bonus numbers. We have also created playlists for all the releases.
  • Our Atomix series of guest mixes is growing nicely, and we are now up to #003 – the third and latest mix in the series is by bLazem, which follows mixes by Stray Theories and Haszari. We have the next couple of mixes lined up for the next few months, so stay tuned to the Newclear Mixcloud page.
  • In March, the second volume of the “Archeology” complications by nsu was released and is available as a free download from the nsu Bandcamp page. It contains instrumental and alternate versions from the “Resurrection” era as well as some previously unreleased remixes.
  • No new releases are on the horizon at this stage, but groundwork is ongoing for the next nsu EP, as he prepares to have two new remixes (for Nikolozi and Haszari) released on our partner label Cartoon Beats.
  • Blogs… yes – we need to write more blog posts… we need to work on that… stay tuned.

Atomix #001 – Stray Theories

We are excited to announce our brand-new, semi-regular guest mix series by Newclear artists and guests.

The concept behind the series is to showcase the music that our network of artists and friends find influential. The focus is more on the selections than the mixing itself – it’s more about the person than the DJ, so expect a variety of styles and interesting selections.

Kicking-off the series is Stray Theories, with an eclectic mix of downbeat, ambient and chill-house.

nsu – Resurrection EP

Resurrection EP

Resurrection EP

The “Resurrection” EP signals the return of nsu, featuring new tracks and remixes which have in one form or another, featured in the live shows over the past few years.

Opening up the EP is the title track, with strong reggae and dubstep influences, and Deepstoned (of Irie Revolution Sound) leading the vocal charge. “Boulevard“, a rebuilt Virus tune, continues the dubwise theme, and features Mak Floss on vocals.

Deepstoned returns with an apocalyptic vocal hook on “Blood Pressure Dub“, a refreshed version of an earlier nsu remix for Haszari of Cartoon Beats. “Incapacitate” is the darkest and most twisted moment on this EP, a growling breakbeat monster, which was written and recorded together with members of RSBM.

A re-edited version of nsu’s uplifting jungle/step “Higher” remix for Stray Theories is resurrected, and appears as “Rise Up” on the EP. Finally, DNB duo Absolute Value & bLazem deliver a percussive version of “Resurrection“, to close out the EP.

The EP is available now for download from:

The EP is also available for streaming from the following services:

nsu – Resurrection (NCMR013EP)
1. Resurrection feat. Deepstoned (5:39)
2. Boulevard feat Virus & Mak Floss (5:01)
3. Blood Pressure Dub feat. Haszari & Deepstoned (5:22)
4. Incapacitate feat. RSBM (5:28)
5. Rise Up feat. Stray Theories (5:30)
6. Resurrection feat. Deepstoned (Absolute Value & bLazem Remix) (5:55)

Check the promo video for the release: YouTube | Vimeo

Roll-on 2016

It has been a long time since the last “news” update, and the past year has been relatively quiet. So as we approach the end of 2015, let’s take a look at what’s been going on, and what will be happening in the coming months:

  • The end of 2014 saw the release of the remix EP for Nikolozi‘s “Counter”. The EP is available now from the usual online retailers.
  • On December 7th, nsu will finally release the long-awaited “Resurrection” EP, which will feature several new tracks, a couple of updated oldies, and a remix of the title-track. Artists appearing on the EP include Deepstoned, Virus, Mak Floss, Haszari, Stray Theories and Absolute Value & bLazem. Some previews can already be heard on nsu’s SoundCloud page.
  • nsu plans to follow-up with another new EP – more details in the next update in early 2016. He is currently completing remixes for Haszari and Comix.
  • Also in December, we will be kicking off a semi-regular Newclear Music mix series on our Mixcloud page. The idea is to present a collection of music curated and presented by our artists – not necessarily DJ mixes, the focus will be on the selections. The first mix will be by Stray Theories. Stay tuned.

We are also preparing our next blog post, to appear by the end of the year.