Stray Theories – Higher – Remixes

Higher - Remixes

Higher – Remixes

A long time coming, Newclear Music is proud to finally bring you one of the finest ever pieces by Micah D. Wolfe (aka Stray Theories, based out of South Island, NZ) – the ultimate uplifting drum’n’bass cut, “Higher”.

Opening the release is the original rush-inducing Stray Theories version. Then, Soul Science are back again and this time take us for a spin into nu-skool jungle territory but still keeping with their signature liquid flavour. Following up is Melbourne-based Cantabrian Nort, who contributes a thumping, techy rinse-out. Rounding off the EP, nsu again leans to the experimental side and drops a soaring track referencing dub, jungle, dubstep, and live electronica – a number that heavily features in his live sets.

The EP is available now in digital (mp3) format from Bandcamp, Apple iTunes,, AmazonMP3 as well as from the Spotify streaming service.

Stray Theories – Higher – Remixes – NCMR007EP
1. Higher 5:31
2. Higher (Soul Science Remix) 5:15
3. Higher (Nort Remix) 7:18
4. Higher (nsu Remix) 7:13

Click here for full Press Release

Check the promo video for the release: Vimeo (HD) | YouTube (HD)

Squeezer – Pure Juice – Remixes

Pure Juice - Remixes

Pure Juice – Remixes

The latest release on Newclear Music is also the first official release by Auckland’s Squeezer – a 5-track multi-genre remix EP of their 2008 chill-out number “Pure Juice”, written and performed by Karl Howe and David Czepanski.

First up is Squeezer’s own TSV Mix, a pumping, uplifting rework of the original. It is followed-up by newcomer Will Marshall, and his extension of the downbeat/chill-out theme, with a hint of breaks. Next on the line up is Dunedin man Haszari, whose remix simply had to be pigeon-holed and it was decided that it was none other than “back room summer jandal acid disco”. Then, Soul Science return again for Newclear and head straight for a dancefloor assault with a slamming drum & bass cut. Finally, nsu dives into experimental territory and delivers a dark mix infused with elements of ambient, dubstep, garage and jungle.

The original version of “Pure Juice”, which is not on this release, can be heard here.

The EP is available now in digital (mp3) format from Bandcamp, Beatport, Apple iTunes, and

Squeezer – Pure Juice – Remixes – NCMR005EP
1. Pure Juice (TSV Mix) 3:36
2. Pure Juice (Will Marshall Remix) 5:32
3. Pure Juice (Haszari Remix) 7:49
4. Pure Juice (Soul Science Remix) 7:02
5. Pure Juice (nsu Remix) 6:05

Click here for full Press Release

nsu РRescap̩



The first release for 2011 by  nsu is a downbeat/ambient remix concept album, showcasing the work of a select group of producers from all around New Zealand. The album is titled “Rescapé” (French for “survivor”), a play on the title of the 2009 EP “Escape”, and its release signals a game-changer:

“Having released a couple of remix singles last year, primarily focusing around styles such as dubstep, breakbeat, house, electro and techno, I wanted to flip the coin and move away from the dance floor in order put the spotlight on the more laid-back genres, while staying true to the remix art form. The intention is to have something  that, regardless of the environment, encourages people to listen and allow inside their headspace, rather than have an hour full of  slamming rhythms and pulverising basslines.” – Ivan Vuković (IV), nsu

Collaborations are the key strength of the album, as the compilation features new versions of previously released nsu tracks put together by handpicked producers:

“I love the concept of a remix and hearing how other musicians construct their own interpretations of my work. As a result I was keen to put together a full-length album project that involved artists from around the country whose work I have admired over the years – the bonus here is, I can refer to most of these guys as my friends. I love working together with other people and I’m very proud of the outcome on this album – it plays very nicely from start to end.” – IV

The album features sublime new work from respected New Zealand artists such as Auckland’s Dub Asylum and  Soul Science,  762 (one half of  Sick Cycle from Christchurch), Raglan’s Felix Deluxe and  Jason Lurman (from Hamilton instrumental rock band Sora Shima), as well as chill-out specialists from the South Island – Invader Tron (CHCH), Sharkweek (Dunedin) and Stray Theories (NZ/AUS). nsu also delivers two of his own fresh new reworks, including a collaboration with Haszari of the Cartoon Beats fame.

The album is available now in digital (MP3) format from Bandcamp, Apple iTunes,, AmazonMP3 and other online retailers. CDs can be ordered online from

nsu – Rescapé - NCMR006LP
1. Broken Mirror (Felix Deluxe Remix) 3:49
2. Panic Bells feat. Siknik (762 Remix) 3:32
3. Discordia (Invader Tron Remix) 5:51
4. Juice of Life feat. Squeezer (Soul Science Remix) 6:15
5. West Coast Dub feat. Squeezer (Dub Asylum Remix) 5:14
6. Slow Motion Stellar Collapse feat. Haszari 7:00
7. Far From Comfort (Sharkweek Remix) 6:55
8. The Mystical Tree (Whakapapa Dub) 4:32
9. Sixteen 786 feat. Lost in Japan (Stray Theories Remix) 5:34
10. Upside Down feat. JR Trap (Sora Shima Remix) 8:06

Click Here for full Press Release

nsu – Upside Down – Remixes

Upside Down – Remixes

The follow up to the “Panic Bells” remix single is “Upside Down”, which brings a superb pair of mixes of the nsu original from the “Escape” EP (featuring US rapper JR Trap) by two rising star producers, combining together to make for a real dance-floor assault. The first cut sees Sydney-based Nikolozi bring forth some heavy gut-busting tribal-techno, which is followed up by the return of Auckland DJ and producer AP3X (of Audio Damage) serving up a slice of pounding breakbeat.

The remix single is available now in digital (MP3) format from Bandcamp, Beatport, iTunes, and

“Upside Down” is taken from the “Escape” EP (NCMR002EP), out now.

Listen to the previews of the remix single below:

nsu – Upside Down – Remixes – NCMR004DS
1. Nikolozi Remix 5:19
2. AP3X Remix 7:15

Haszari & nsu – It’s Not Real / Neutron Star MMX (Cartoon Beats – CBR003)

Haszari & nsu - It's Not Real / Neutron Star MMX (CBR003)

Haszari & nsu – It’s Not Real / Neutron Star MMX (CBR003)

“It’s Not Real / Neutron Star MMX” is the 3rd release from Dunedin-based label Cartoon Beats, and the first to feature work by nsu. The double EP (unofficially known as “The Deep Space EP”) comes with a title-track each by Haszari and nsu, with remix support from NZ legends Aural Trash, Greg Churchill and LA-based Snake Charmer.

The foundations of the EP lie in the distant depths of cosmos with the original numbers flying the tech-house banner. The party is then crashed proper by nearing the speed of light thanks to the more energised electro trash and fidget cuts, courtesy of the remix expedition crew.

The EP is available now in digital format from iTunes,, AmazonMP3 and other online retailers.

Listen to the previews of the EP below:

Haszari & nsu – It’s Not Real / Neutron Star MMX – CBR003
1. Haszari – It’s Not Real 6:36
2. Haszari – It’s Not Real (nsu “Are Those Real” Remix) 7:08
3. Haszari – It’s Not Real (Aural Trash “Pass The Dutchie” Remix) 5:54
4. Haszari – It’s Not Real (Snake Charmer “Dark Matter” Remix) 6:36
5. nsu – Neutron Star MMX 8:15
6. nsu – Neutron Star MMX (Haszari “SSE” Remix) 5:26
7. nsu – Neutron Star MMX (Greg Churchill “Last Gas Station Before Pluto” Remix) 7:16
8. nsu – Neutron Star MMX (Snake Charmer “Hyperdrive” Remix) 5:34