Atomix #001 – Stray Theories

We are excited to announce our brand-new, semi-regular guest mix series by Newclear artists and guests.

The concept behind the series is to showcase the music that our network of artists and friends find influential. The focus is more on the selections than the mixing itself – it’s more about the person than the DJ, so expect a variety of styles and interesting selections.

Kicking-off the series is Stray Theories, with an eclectic mix of downbeat, ambient and chill-house.

Squeezer – Chilled Juice – Remixes

Chilled Juice - Remixes

Chilled Juice – Remixes

The latest EP out on Newclear Music sees the return of Squeezer, for our first EP focused exclusively on chill-out styles.

Squeezer returns to the fore with a heavenly chill-out number, with undertones of slowed-down trance. Virus (of the Audio Colours collective) flavours his version with easy rollin’ breakbeats. Andy Snook is back under his Invader Tron guise, this time delivering a mellow psychedelic take on the original, featuring the talents of Azzy on the flute. Newclear family member Stray Theories stamps his signature ethereal/post-rock/ambient style on the track and nsu, as has been the custom, rounds off the release, this time with a nod to trip-hop.

The EP is available now in digital format from Beatport, iTunes, JunoDownload, Traxsource, the Newclear Bandcamp Store, and the Spotify streaming service.

Squeezer – Chilled Juice – Remixes (NCMR011EP)
1. Original Mix (5:48)
2. Virus Remix (4:58)
3. Invader Tron & Azzy Remix (7:25)
4. Stray Theories Remix (4:18)
5. nsu Remix (6:10)

Check the promo video for the release: Vimeo | YouTube

nsu РRescap̩



The first release for 2011 by  nsu is a downbeat/ambient remix concept album, showcasing the work of a select group of producers from all around New Zealand. The album is titled “Rescapé” (French for “survivor”), a play on the title of the 2009 EP “Escape”, and its release signals a game-changer:

“Having released a couple of remix singles last year, primarily focusing around styles such as dubstep, breakbeat, house, electro and techno, I wanted to flip the coin and move away from the dance floor in order put the spotlight on the more laid-back genres, while staying true to the remix art form. The intention is to have something  that, regardless of the environment, encourages people to listen and allow inside their headspace, rather than have an hour full of  slamming rhythms and pulverising basslines.” – Ivan Vuković (IV), nsu

Collaborations are the key strength of the album, as the compilation features new versions of previously released nsu tracks put together by handpicked producers:

“I love the concept of a remix and hearing how other musicians construct their own interpretations of my work. As a result I was keen to put together a full-length album project that involved artists from around the country whose work I have admired over the years – the bonus here is, I can refer to most of these guys as my friends. I love working together with other people and I’m very proud of the outcome on this album – it plays very nicely from start to end.” – IV

The album features sublime new work from respected New Zealand artists such as Auckland’s Dub Asylum and  Soul Science,  762 (one half of  Sick Cycle from Christchurch), Raglan’s Felix Deluxe and  Jason Lurman (from Hamilton instrumental rock band Sora Shima), as well as chill-out specialists from the South Island – Invader Tron (CHCH), Sharkweek (Dunedin) and Stray Theories (NZ/AUS). nsu also delivers two of his own fresh new reworks, including a collaboration with Haszari of the Cartoon Beats fame.

The album is available now in digital (MP3) format from Bandcamp, Apple iTunes,, AmazonMP3 and other online retailers. CDs can be ordered online from

nsu – Rescapé - NCMR006LP
1. Broken Mirror (Felix Deluxe Remix) 3:49
2. Panic Bells feat. Siknik (762 Remix) 3:32
3. Discordia (Invader Tron Remix) 5:51
4. Juice of Life feat. Squeezer (Soul Science Remix) 6:15
5. West Coast Dub feat. Squeezer (Dub Asylum Remix) 5:14
6. Slow Motion Stellar Collapse feat. Haszari 7:00
7. Far From Comfort (Sharkweek Remix) 6:55
8. The Mystical Tree (Whakapapa Dub) 4:32
9. Sixteen 786 feat. Lost in Japan (Stray Theories Remix) 5:34
10. Upside Down feat. JR Trap (Sora Shima Remix) 8:06

Click Here for full Press Release

nsu – Escape EP

Escape EP

Escape EP

“Escape” is the latest release by nsu, a 5 track EP featuring collaborations with Siknik (vocals – Wellington), JR Trap (vocals – ND, USA), and Lost in Japan (guitar – Iceland) – A moody collection of electronic-based pieces, spanning several styles and representing a sonic journey from darkness to light.

The EP is available now as in CD and MP3 formats from Amplifier. MP3’s are also available on Bandcamp, Apple iTunes, Juno Download, AmazonMP3, and other online retailers.

You can also purchase the CD directly from newclear music – see the newclear store for details on how to make your order.

Listen to previews of the EP below:

nsu – Escape EP – NCMR002EP
1. Broken Mirror (Intro) 2:52
2. Panic Bells feat. Siknik 5:23
3. Discordia 5:47
4. Upside Down feat. JR Trap 5:20
5. Sixteen 786 feat. Lost in Japan 4:41